About The ECS Calgary Student Chapter

About the ECS Calgary Student Chapter

The ECS Calgary Student Chapter was established in 2011 by chemistry graduate students at University of Calgary in Alberta, Canada, and was the second ECS Student Chapter to be formed in Canada. The first ECS Calgary Student Chapter event was held on November 4, 2011 in conjunction with the annual meeting of the ECS Canadian Section. This successful event attracted new student members to the student chapter and to ECS. This Chapter provides a valuable link between students studying electrochemistry and industries located in Alberta. The Chapter aims to create opportunities for interaction with researchers and scientists from both academia and industry. They also actively participate in science outreach events around city to promote electrochemistry and its applications to the public.

Prof. Viola Birss serves as a faculty advisor, and graduate students Marwa Atwa, Hamideh Eskandari, Zohreh Fallah, and Maedeh Pahlevaninezhad currently serve as President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer, respectively, for the 2019-2020 academic year. The Calgary Student Chapter includes more than 60 members performing innovative research in electrochemistry.

The ECS Calgary Student Chapter was awarded the Electrochemical Society Outstanding Student Chapter Award in June 2019 and was the first Canadian chapter to earn this recognition. This accomplishment was due to the efforts of the committee during 2018-2019 academic year, which included Behzad Fuladpanjeh (President), Annie Hoang (Vice-President), Yalda Zamani (Secretary), Katelynn Daly (Treasurer), Marwa Atwa (Membership Coordinator), and several members-at large. A plaque was presented to the Calgary Student Chapter at the 236th ECS Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, USA (held on October 13-17, 2019).



Social Media